Skip to main content

The Glasshouse

Friday 27 November 2020 | 7.30pm  


RNS: La Mer

Kyra Humphreys Cropped

RNS: La Mer

Part of Sage Live 2020

Please note there will be no interval and this performance will last approximately 60-70 minutes.


Live Stream £8

? To access the live stream, please log into your account and click ‘My Live Streams’.

View the concert programme

Kyra Humphreys director/violin
Alasdair Beatson piano
Royal Northern Sinfonia

Debussy (arr. Farrington) Prélude a l’aprés midi d’un faune
Beamish Piano Concerto No.1 Hill Stanzas (UK Premiere)
Debussy (arr. Farrington) La Mer

From the haunting flute solo that opens Debussy’s Prélude to the evocative sounds and colours of the same composer’s poetic evocation of the sea, this concert is a chance to bask in the rich harmonies and beautiful melodies of French music at its most glorious. RNS have performed Iain Farrington’s arrangements with great success around the region, and we’re looking forward to bringing them home to Sage Gateshead. A different kind of natural landscape – the breathtaking vistas and myriad sounds of the Cairngorms National Park – provided the inspiration for Sally Beamish’s concerto, performed this evening by our Chamber Pianist-in-Residence Alasdair Beatson.

View the concert programme here.

Programmes and artists are subject to change at short notice due to Covid-19 restrictions.

Watch On Demand!

Tonight’s concert will be streamed live, then from midnight it will be available on demand for a further 48 hours.

Please join us for the live performance, then watch again over the weekend for free.

The on demand video can be accessed the same way as the live stream. Log into your account and click ‘My Live Streams’.