Skip to main content

The Glasshouse



RNS: Sibelius Symphony No.5

Chloé van Soeterstède DSC_2593a (c) Valerie Bernadini (Large)

RNS: Sibelius Symphony No.5

Part of Sage Live 2020

Please note there will be no interval and this performance will last approximately 60-70 minutes.


Live Stream £8

? To access the live stream, please log into your account and click ‘My Live Streams’.

Chloé van Soeterstède conductor
Steffan Morris cello
Royal Northern Sinfonia

Elgar Serenade for Strings
Ylva Skog They Call Her Love
Tchaikovsky Andante Cantabile
Sibelius arr. Farrington Symphony No.5

Young French conductor Chloé van Soeterstède has been charming audiences all over the world with her intuitive and expressive musicianship. She, and our very own Steffan Morris (cello), join us tonight in a programme showcasing the RNS strings in luscious Elgar and Tchaikovsky, followed by our first performance at Sage Gateshead of Iain Farrington’s special arrangement of Sibelius’ Symphony No.5. This piece was a huge hit in our regional touring programme last season, so we are delighted to be bringing it home to Sage One. Great music, superb musicians, a perfect acoustic – what more could you ask for!

Programmes and artists are subject to change at short notice due to Covid-19 restrictions.

View and download the concert programme here.

Classical Futures Europe