Skip to main content

The Glasshouse

Friday 11 November 2022 | 7:30pm  


On Demand: RNS: European Dances

Nil Venditti conductor

On Demand: RNS: European Dances

Part of Sage Classics 2022/23

Duration – 2 hours


Nil Venditti conductor
Eldbjørg Hemsing violin
Royal Northern Sinfonia

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Overture to The Abduction from the Seraglio
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto
Béla Bartók Romanian Dances
Fazil Say Symphonic Dances
Johannes Brahms Hungarian Dances No. 1, 6 & 10

To play Tchaikovsky’s ever-popular Violin Concerto, we welcome Eldbjorg Hemsing – a violinist who’s been hailed for her “swashbuckling bravado”. She joins the brilliant young Italian-Turkish conductor Nil Venditti in a concert of classics with a hint of folk. Mozart’s comedy overture sets things buzzing, before Venditti launches into a joyous, noholds- barred adventure through the folk music of Eastern Europe and Turkey from Bartók, Brahms and Fazil Say. Expect a very lively evening!

How to watch

? Watch on demand until midnight on Wednesday. Buy a pass.

If you have already purchased a pass click here to watch the stream.

Download your FREE concert programme here