Skip to main content

The Glasshouse



RNS: English Chamber Music Festival

RNS Wind Quintet

RNS: English Chamber Music Festival


Royal Northern Sinfonia

Gustav Holst Wind Quintet
Arthur Bliss Clarinet Quintet
Malcolm Arnold Wind Quintet
Ethel Smyth String Quintet

Join the musicians of Royal Northern Sinfonia for a celebration of English classical music for five players. The woodwind section take the lead in wind quintets by Holst and Arnold, both of which were lost for decades after composition before being found and published. A quartet of strings join them to perform Bliss’ lively Clarinet Quintet before showcasing the lesser-known work of Ethel Smyth, the first female composer to be given a damehood.

ℹ️ Useful Information

? Download your FREE concert programme here

Children under 14 must be accompanied by an adult.

What to expect when you visit us >>

View our Booking Terms and Conditions >>

? Construction works near Sage Gateshead

Site preparation works have now commenced on the NewcastleGateshead Quays development, to the east of Sage Gateshead. This means changes to the South Shore Road Car Park, pedestrian and car routes. Find out more.

Find out more about the music in this concert