Skip to main content

The Glasshouse

Friday 1 October 2021 | 7:30pm  


Royal Northern Sinfonia: Dance!

FD13270 Royal Northern Sinfonia Classical Season_website images_solo 2

Royal Northern Sinfonia: Dance!

Part of Sage Classics Autumn 2021

Children under 14 must be accompanied by an adult

Sage One

Streaming passes will remain on sale until midnight on the night of the performance. Watch on demand for 48 hours.


Adams Shaker Loops (10 mins)
Piazzolla Bandoneon Concerto ‘Aconcagua’ (20 mins)
Beethoven Symphony No.7

Joana Carneiro conductor
Ksenija Sidorova accordion
Royal Northern Sinfonia

Last Night of the Proms star Ksenija Sidarova joins us for this concert themed around dance and movement. She’s the soloist for the Tango-inspired concerto for bandoneon (very similar to an accordion) and orchestra, named after Argentina’s tallest mountain, as it’s so often ranked as the high point of the composer’s music. The evening starts with the hypnotic sounds of John Adams’ minimalist masterpiece Shaker Loops, inspired by the rapturous physical movement that the composer witnessed in the Shakers – a Christian sect that has now almost died out. We finish with a piece described by Wagner as the ‘Apotheosis (the peak) of the dance’ – Beethoven’s euphoric Symphony No.7.

ℹ️ Useful Information

Concessions are available for:

  • North East First Timers
  • 18-30s
  • 17 & Under and Unemployed (in receipt of benefit)
  • Groups

Find out more about concessions, booking and travel here

? View your FREE concert programme

What to expect when you visit us


This event is supported by Classical Future's Europe and the Creative Europe Programme of the European Union.

Can’t make the live concert? Streaming passes are available!

Join us from the comfort of your own sofa for the live stream of the concert, which will be streamed as a live experience from our iconic Sage One hall. The live stream will be also be available to watch on demand for 48 hours from midnight on Friday 1 October.

We now have three ticket options for our livestreams: Single Viewer (£8), Pair of Viewers (£15) and Family Viewers (£30). Please select the best option for you. On Sale Friday 17 September at 12noon.

Streaming FAQs

To get the best possible experience, please read our Streaming FAQs, which includes information on how to view the stream on your TV.


Classical Futures Europe

This event is supported by Classical Future’s Europe and the Creative Europe Programme of the European Union.

Discover More

Subscribe and Save

Book all five RNS concerts and save 10%. Save 15% if you add in the piano recital too.

Book Subscription

Joana Carneiro, conductor

Acclaimed Portuguese conductor Joana Carneiro is Principal Conductor of the Orquesta Sinfonica Portuguesa and Teatro Sao Carlos in Lisbon. From 2009 to 2018 she was Music Director of Berkeley Symphony, succeeding Kent Nagano as only the third music director in the 40-year history of the orchestra. Recent and future guest conducting highlights including engagements with the Philharmonia Orchestra, Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, BBC Symphony, Royal Stockholm Philharmonic (whom she conducted at the Nobel Prize Ceremony in December 2017), Gothenburg Symphony, National Arts Centre Orchestra in Ottawa, Bergen Philharmonic and the BBC Scottish Symphony. In 18/19 she conducted Bernstein’s “It’s a Wonderful Town” with the Royal Danish National Opera and a new production of “Carmen” at the Royal Stockholm Opera. In February 2020 she conducted a new production of “Nixon in China” by John Adams at the Scottish Opera.

Carneiro is the 2010 recipient of the Helen M. Thompson Award, conferred by the League of American Orchestras to recognize and honour music directors of exceptional promise. In 2004, Carneiro was decorated by the President of the Portuguese Republic, Mr. Jorge Sampaio, with the Commendation of the Order of the Infante Dom Henrique.


Ksenija Sidorova, accordion

Praised as “revelatory” (New York Times) with “breathtaking virtuosity” (The Observer), Ksenija Sidorova is the leading ambassador for the classical accordion. Both a unique and charismatic performer, Ksenija is passionate about showcasing the vast capabilities of her instrument. Her repertoire spans from Bach to Piazzolla, from Efrem Podgaits and Václav Trojan, to Erkki-Sven Tüür and George Bizet, as well as new accordion concertos composed especially for her, plus a multitude of chamber projects.

In May 2012 she became the first International Award winner of the Bryn Terfel Foundation, and in October 2015 she appeared at the Royal Albert Hall as part of his 50th birthday celebrations alongside Sting. She is a recipient of both the Philharmonia Orchestra’s Martin Musical Scholarship and Friends of the Philharmonia Award, as well as the Worshipful Company of Musicians Silver Medal. Since 2016, Ksenija has been an Associate of the Royal Academy of Music.

Ksenija Sidorova_Roberts Blaubuks 0925
RNS Angel

Royal Northern Sinfonia, orchestra of Sage Gateshead, is the UK’s only full-time chamber orchestra. Founded in 1958, RNS has built a worldwide reputation for the North East through the quality of its music-making and the immediacy of the connections the musicians make with audiences.

The orchestra regularly flies the flag for the region at major festivals, including the BBC Proms. They appear frequently at venues and festivals in Europe, including La folle journée in Nantes. In recent seasons they have toured to Vienna, Budapest, Istanbul and Tokyo.