Skip to main content

The Glasshouse



RNS Chamber: Haydn & Schubert

RNS Quartet

RNS Chamber: Haydn & Schubert


Maria Włoszczowska violin
Eva Aronian violin
James Slater viola
Daniel Hammersley cello
Philip Nelson double bass

programme to include:
Joseph Haydn String Quartet Op. 20, No. 4
Franz Schubert String Quintet in C major

Royal Northern Sinfonia present a lively programme of music for strings, directed by orchestra leader Maria Włoszczowska. Known as ‘the father of the string quartet’, Haydn wrote almost 70 of them in his lifetime and Op.20, No.4 is a sparkling example that shows the full range of his musical talent. Schubert’s String Quintet also has an important place in music history thanks to the addition of an extra cello to a standard quartet for a deeper, richer sound.  In between these two classical masterpieces Maria and Philip will perform a selection of bluegrass duos for violin and double bass, inspired by the folk-like movements within the Haydn and Schubert pieces.

ℹ️ Useful Information

? Download your FREE concert programme

Children under 14 must be accompanied by an adult.

What to expect when you visit us >>

View our Booking Terms and Conditions >>

? Construction works near Sage Gateshead

Site preparation works have now commenced on the NewcastleGateshead Quays development, to the east of Sage Gateshead. This means changes to the South Shore Road Car Park, pedestrian and car routes. Find out more.