Skip to main content

The Glasshouse

Friday 24 May 2024   |   7:30pm
Book Now

Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto

Nil Venditti

Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto

Part of Classical 2023/24

Sage One

Book Now

Tickets – £5.00 to £43.00

Fresh. Spiky. Be energised

Who’s on stage

Royal Northern Sinfonia plus guest conductor Nil Venditti – we loved working with her so much last year we brought her back for more!

What they’re playing

With four pieces of music on tonight’s programme, there’s something to please the most varied musical tastes. The most famous is Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto, but there’s also music from Ludwig van Beethoven and Igor Stravinsky too.

Need to know

Price: £17 – £43

Running time: 2 hours, including a 20 minute interval.

Discounts: Save if you’re local, unemployed, a first timer.

Age: Under 14s must be accompanied by an adult.

What you'll hear

Fazil Say Chamber Symphony (20’)
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Clarinet Concerto (25’)
Igor Stravinsky Danses Concertantes (19’)
Ludwig van Beethoven Symphony No. 1 (26’) 

Who's playing

Nil Venditti conductor 
Cristina Mateo clarinet
Royal Northern Sinfonia 

What's happening in the music

Mozart’s Clarinet concerto is an optimistic and charming piece of music. The slow middle section, which is its most famous, is pretty much musical perfection. You might see it as purely serene and beautiful, but maybe there’s a little nostalgia and melancholy there too? Any slight sadness is erased by the intense rhythmic energy of Stravinsky’s Dances Concertantes though.

A need for romance

Also on the programme is Fazil Say’s Chamber Symphony. It’s entirely inspired by Turkish music, where the composer is from. The composer says that it’s about the complexities of modern-day Turkey. It’s middle section is calm and quiet, and as Fazil says, “underlines the need for romanticism in our age”. The piece finishes with a fast-paced dance.

Take a listen

Get a taste of Fazil Say’s Chamber Symphony.

Your Visit


Friday 24 May 2024

From: £5.00 - £43.00

Sage One