Skip to main content

The Glasshouse



Brahms' Clarinet Quintet at Auckland Castle

rsz RNS String Quartet credit Tynesight Photographic

Brahms' Clarinet Quintet at Auckland Castle


Who’s on stage

The brilliant musicians of Royal Northern Sinfonia, in small groups of five and six players, in the magnificent surroundings of Auckland Castle.

What they’re playing

The lush Romantic music of Johannes Brahms sits at the heart of this concert. The String Sextet No. 2, for two violins, two violas and two cellos, is a rich, vivid piece that shows off the full range and colour of the string section.

The Clarinet Quintet is a bold, lively showcase for clarinet and string quintet that proves it’s never too late in life to create something beautiful. Brahms declared himself retired the year before he wrote it but on hearing a popular clarinet player of the time, felt inspired to pick up his pen and get writing again. It turned out to be one of his best.

A short interlude from Richard Strauss’ opera Capriccio, in which a poet and a musician vie for the affections of a glamorous French countess, sets the scene for the evening.

What you'll hear

Richard Strauss String Sextet from Capriccio (12’)
Johannes Brahms Clarinet Quintet (35’)
Johannes Brahms String Sextet No 2. in G major (38’)

Who's playing it

The musicians of Royal Northern Sinfonia

This event takes place at:

Auckland Castle
Market Place
Bishop Auckland
DL14 7NR