Skip to main content

The Glasshouse

Watch on demand until midnight on Sunday 24 April  


ON DEMAND: RNS: Vivaldi's Four Seasons

New season_web_4

ON DEMAND: RNS: Vivaldi's Four Seasons

Stream passes are available to purchase until 7.30pm on Sunday 24 April. Watch on demand until midnight on Sunday.


? This concert was broadcast live on Friday 22 April. Purchase a Stream Pass to watch on demand until midnight on Sunday 24 April.


Rachel Podger director/violin
Royal Northern Sinfonia

Corelli Concerto Grosso, Op.6 No. 1
Telemann Concerto for 3 Oboes, 3 Violins and Continuo in B-Flat Major
Telemann Overture in D major from Tafelmusik II, TWV 55:D1
Vivaldi The Four Seasons, Op.8

Everyone’s got their own favourite bit of Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons: the birdsong of Spring, the downpours of Summer, the celebrations of Autumn or the icy shiver of Winter. Three centuries after they were composed, they’re as fresh and tuneful as ever – and there’s still nothing to beat the sensation of hearing these four brilliant concertos performed live in concert. Rachel Podger is an expert on baroque music, as well as a dazzling violinist. She takes the spotlight today, and shares three more baroque gems by Telemann and Corelli: expect wit, drama and pure sonic splendour.

ℹ️ Useful Information

? Download your FREE concert programme here

The duration of the concert is around 2 hours, including a 20 minute interval.

Rachel Podger, Violin

“Rachel Podger, the unsurpassed British glory of the baroque violin,” (The Times) has established herself as a leading interpreter of the Baroque and Classical. She was the first woman to be awarded the prestigious Royal Academy of Music/Kohn Foundation Bach Prize in October 2015, Gramophone Artist of the Year 2018, and the Ambassador for REMA’s Early Music Day 2020. A creative programmer, Rachel is the founder and Artistic Director of Brecon Baroque Festival and her ensemble Brecon Baroque.

As a director and soloist, Rachel has enjoyed countless collaborations including with Robert Levin, Jordi Savall, Masaaki Suzuki, Kristian Bezuidenhout, VOCES8, Robert Hollingworth & I Fagiolini, Christopher Glynn, European Union Baroque Orchestra, English Concert, Armonico Consort, Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, Academy of Ancient Music, Holland Baroque Society, Tafelmusik (Toronto), the Handel and Haydn Society, San Francisco Early Music, Philharmonia Baroque, and Oregon Bach Festival.

Rachel Podger

Rachel Podger

Watch Online

Join us live from our iconic Sage One hall as we bring the Royal Northern Sinfonia to your home, wherever you are in the world.

Book your Stream Pass (Single Viewer (£8), Pair of Viewers (£12) and Family (£30)) and watch the concert live or on demand for 48 hours after the concert finishes.

ℹ️ Read our tips and advice on how to have the best livestreaming experience.