Skip to main content

The Glasshouse

Friday 14 May | 7.30pm  


Spotlight on RNS: Five Composers, Four Seasons

MicrosoftTeams-image (9)

Spotlight on RNS: Five Composers, Four Seasons

Please note there will be no interval and this performance will last approximately 60-70 minutes.

Stream passes on sale until midnight on Friday 14 May


? To access the live stream, please log into your account and click ‘My Live Streams’.

? Download the concert programme

Royal Northern Sinfonia

Dobrinka Tabakova Organum Light
Piazzolla Four Seasons of Buenos Aires ‘Spring’
(director/violin Marie Schreer)
Tailleferre Sonata for Solo Clarinet, Mvt 1
(Jessica Lee)
Piazzolla Four Seasons of Buenos Aires ‘Summer’
(director/violin Gaëlle-Anne Michel)
Daniel Kidane Towards Resolution
(director Kyra Humphreys)
Piazzolla Four Seasons of Buenos Aires ‘Autumn’
(director/violin Katerina Nazarova)
Tailleferre Sonata for Solo Clarinet, Mvt 2
(Jessica Lee)
Piazzolla Four Seasons of Buenos Aires ‘Winter’
(director/violin Alanna Tonetti-Tieppo)
Haydn Sinfonia Concertante
(director/violin Alexandra Raikhlina, cello Steffan Morris, oboe Michael O’Donnell, bassoon Stephen Reay)

Watch on Demand!

Tonight’s concert will be streamed live, then from midnight it will be available on demand for a further 48 hours.

Please join us for the live performance, then watch again over the weekend for free.

The on demand video can be accessed the same way as the live stream. Log into your account and click ‘My Live Streams’.

Fresh takes and inspiring ideas are what the New Beginnings series is all about, and this concert mirrors the theme perfectly. Contrasting with the movements of Piazzolla’s sultry tango-infused Four Seasons are pieces chosen by members of Royal Northern Sinfonia; the first time that members of the orchestra have revealed their creative minds by curating a concert together especially for you! The programme showcases individual talents in the orchestra, shines a light on some gems by underrepresented composers worth knowing, and finishes with Haydn’s Sinfonia Concertante – a hit at its premiere, being described as ‘profound, airy, affecting and original’. We hope you enjoy listening to this concert as much as we enjoyed plotting it!

Alexandra Raikhlina, Violin, Royal Northern Sinfonia

Download the concert programme here.

Fancy a taster of the music first? Why not take a listen to our Spotify playlist to explore some of tonight’s programme ahead of time. Enjoy music by Piazzolla, Tailleferre and Haydn.

How many people will be watching the live stream in your home? We now have three ticket options for our livestreams: Single Viewer (£8), Pair of Viewers (£15) and Family Viewers (£30). Please select the best option for you.

Four Seasons: The Lowdown

How does tango accordion music become music for violin and orchestra? And what is it like to play? We spoke to our musicians about this incredible piece.

Find Out More

Five Composers: The Lowdown

Less familiar with some of those names and pieces listed above? We’ve had a great time digging deeper into this music and these composers.

Discover More

Five Minutes with: Daniel Kidane

MicrosoftTeams-image (6)

Royal Northern Sinfonia, orchestra of Sage Gateshead, is the UK’s only full-time chamber orchestra. Founded in 1958, RNS has built a worldwide reputation for the North East through the quality of its music-making and the immediacy of the connections the musicians make with audiences.

The orchestra regularly flies the flag for the region at major festivals, including the BBC Proms. They appear frequently at venues and festivals in Europe, including La folle journée in Nantes. In recent seasons they have toured to Vienna, Budapest, Istanbul and Tokyo.