Skip to main content

The Glasshouse



Dementia Friendly Performance: RNS Chamber Music

Royal Northern Sinfonia

Dementia Friendly Performance: RNS Chamber Music


Stamitz Oboe Quartet in E flat, Op.8 No.4
Elgar Andante and Allegro for Oboe and String Trio
Mozart String Quartet in D, K499 ‘Hoffmeister’ (selected movements)

An RNS chamber music performance in a supportive and relaxed environment, suited to those with dementia and their families/carers.

A complimentary cup of tea or coffee and a biscuit is included in the ticket price.

Free carer tickets available if required.

Some of the ways that this performance is dementia friendly:
  • There will be additional signage around our building, with symbols and pictures
  • There will be additional staff on hand to help
  • The house lights will be up slightly
  • A quiet room will be available before, during and after the performance
  • The seating arrangements will be flexible and you can move seats during the performance
  • Audience members are able to move around the hall or come in and out

This feeling and memory stayed with her throughout the day – and although she forgets many outings we do – the pleasure of this memory lived with her for many weeks.” Jane Morton from Tynedale Dementia Action Alliance who attended the last dementia friendly performance with her friend Ann who has dementia.

Listen to Jane speak with Lisa Shaw on BBC Radio Newcastle  (1 hour 20 minutes in to the show)

About the music

Stamitz Oboe Quartet in E flat, Op.8 No.4

Carl Stamitz first pursued a career as a violinist before becoming a composer, but never secured a permanent appointment. His compositional style is similar to that of early Mozart and Haydn. The oboe part in this quartet was originally written for clarinet, with the more popular oboe part written to increase sales. The opening Allegro is divided into two section and the oboe and strings take turns to lead. The music is very subtle with few dynamic contrasts. The middle Andante is tender, but the final Rondo is livelier and makes use of folk melodies

Elgar Andante and Allegro for Oboe and String Trio

Written when Elgar was just 21, the Andante and Allegro was not published until much later having been discovered in an oddments folder in the British Museum. Elgar wrote this while he was Bandmaster at Worcester County and City Pauper Lunatic Asylum, where music played a part in the rehabilitation of patients and the band was made up of staff. Sadly, a lot of the music he wrote in this time was then ignored after he left his position. The Andante has a serene lullaby, layered over continuous semiquavers in the violin, whereas the Allegro is scherzo-like and very rhythmic.

Mozart String Quartet in D, K499 ‘Hoffmeister’ (selected movements)

Mozart wrote the ‘Hoffmeister’ quartet in 1786 and it was published by his friend Franz Anton Hoffmeister who described it as “written with that fire of the imagination and that correctness which long since won for Herr Mozart the reputation of one of the best composers in Germany. The jaunty opening of the Allegretto uses an arpeggio motif in D major that pervades the entire movement and is developed through different keys. When it returns in the home key there is a sense of sunlight appearing from behind dark clouds. The Menuetto contrasts charming and sombre music, before an overwhelming warmth in the Adagio. The final Allegro is light-hearted, with fun swirling parts continuing right up until the ending.

Useful Information

If a familiarisation visit would be helpful, or you have any questions regarding wheelchair access or disabled parking, we would be very happy to help. Just contact our Box Office on 0191 443 4661 for more information, or take a virtual tour on our website here.