Skip to main content

The Glasshouse



Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment Schiff's Mendelssohn

Andras_Schiff (c) Nadia F Romanini

Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment Schiff's Mendelssohn

Part of Classical 2023/24


Fresh. Sparkling. Wear a kilt.

Who’s on stage

Blessed (or cursed) with one of the more unusual names in classical music, the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment perform things as the composer intended, or as close as possible. Because, over time, instruments, playing techniques and styles of performance have changed. So by going back to original instruments, or replicas, and researching performance techniques you get just a little bit closer to what the composer intended. They’re joined on stage by one of their favourite collaborators, pianist and conductor András Schiff.

Period Sound

Wonder what that actually sounds like? It’s a subtle shift. Perhaps a bit more direct, maybe tiny bit less refined, definitely a lighter and more airy sound than a modern orchestra. Only one way to find out really…

What they’re playing

It’s a feast of music by Felix Mendelssohn, including one of most famous pieces, the Scottish Symphony.

Need to know

Price: £19 – £46

Running time: 2 hours, including a 20 minute interval.

Discounts: Save if you’re local, unemployed, a first timer.

Age: Under 14s must be accompanied by an adult.

Concert programme: learn more about the music and performers you’re about to hear with your free downloadable programme.

What you'll hear

Felix Mendelssohn Symphony No. 5 ‘Reformation’ (33′)
Felix Mendelssohn Piano Concerto No. 2 (25′)
Felix Mendelssohn Symphony No. 3 ‘Scottish’ (40′) 

Who's playing

Sir András Schiff  director/piano
Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

What's happening in the music

Mendelssohn loved Scotland. So much so that he wrote not one but two pieces of music that were inspired by his travels around it. Here’s the bigger one – his Scottish symphony, a really evocative description of the mighty Scottish Landscape. Also on the bill is his celebratory Reformation symphony and second piano concerto – charming, full of tunes and with a zingy, high energy finish.

Take a listen

Hear Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment play (Attilio Ariosti) ‘March of the Dead’.  You might recognise this piece and the playing from when it was featured on the TV series The Crown.

Your Visit