Skip to main content

The Glasshouse



Newcastle International Chamber Music Series: Quatuor Mosaïques


Newcastle International Chamber Music Series: Quatuor Mosaïques


Hyacinthe Jadin Quartet in D, Op.4, No.3
Haydn Quartet in B flat, Op.74, No.4 ‘Sunrise’
Schumann Quartet in A, Op.41, No.3

Formed in 1987 and still with its four founding members, the Quatuor Mosaïques is the doyen of ‘period instrument’ ensembles, with a repertoire that extends to the 20th century, and includes many rarely-heard composers.  Its recordings of Mozart and Haydn have garnered prizes including a Gramophone Award and Diapason d’or.

Jadin died of tuberculosis in 1800, at the age of 24, leaving a wide range of compositions, many unpublished. This is his 11th string quartet, composed in 1798.  Haydn’s ‘Sunrise’ quartet is among his most popular, getting its nickname from its magical upward opening phrase.  Schumann’s three quartets were composed in his amazingly prolific year of 1842, along with the piano quintet and quartet.

The Mosaïques inflect the music with myriad deft touches that reveal this miraculous score as a new way forward … one of the most revelatory and thought-provoking sets of these timeless classics [late Beethoven] in decades.  Julian Haylock, The Strad, February 2018 

️ Useful Information

Children under 14 must be accompanied by an adult


  • Half price for those in full time education
  • Free entry for an adult accompanying a student age 16 or under
  • Free entry for the carer of a person with a disability who relies on their help

Find out more about concessions, booking and travel here.

What to expect when you visit us >>

? Construction works near Sage Gateshead

Site preparation works have now commenced on the NewcastleGateshead Quays development, to the east of Sage Gateshead. This means changes to the South Shore Road Car Park, pedestrian and car routes. Find out more.